Previews

On this page, you'll find all the previews which have appeared since Zeus: Master of Olympus was announced.

IGN PC (May 11th, 2000)
Zeus is still a long way from release, but it's looking pretty good so far and thanks to the fact that it's being designed by the same folks who did Caesar 3 and Pharaoh, progress is moving along pretty rapidly. Look for more information on this Fall release from IGNPC as it becomes available.
DailyRadar (May 11th, 2000)
What has changed markedly from the earlier version is the level of entry; Impression Games is broadening the appeal by making the development of a city easier. Cities develop with a simpler system of requirements and take less time to mature, the Gods aren't so annoying and they actually walk around the city squabbling with each other, similar to the Greek mythos.
AVault (June 9th, 2000)
Little is set in stone: people will be able to choose which gods to worship, where to establish colonies and which cities to conquer. Furthermore, the adventure structure will offer something for all users. Those who prefer longer gaming sessions can spend hours completing one adventure. Those who prefer shorter gaming sessions will also feel a sense of accomplishment following each session.
Gamecenter (June 9th, 2000)
If players become powerful enough, they will attract the attention of some of the famous heroes of Greek legend, who will come to their city to help rid it of the monsters plaguing the countryside. Successful rulers might also be able to call on the power of the gods to keep their citizens in line, but should know that the gods will also bless a faithful city and punish a city that doesn't give them their proper due.
IGN PC (June 23rd, 2000)
Some of the best city building/economic/military sims to date have come out of the Impressions studios. They were called Caesar III and Pharaoh and dealt with the periods of the mighty Roman and Egyptian empires. In them you needed to balance the economic and population growth of your city with the militaristic and religious needs of the society. There was a lot of gameplay in these titles and Impressions is hoping to bring back the same great gameplay with a couple of subtle differences that you can read about in our preview of Zeus: Master of Olympus. Take a look at that and then wander back here and take a look at these new screens.
GameSpot (June 30th, 2000)
The build we have right now is in an alpha stage - it does not have all the features that are promised in the final game. We'll be receiving a preview build in a few weeks, and at that time, we'll bring you a full preview discussing the different buildings, disasters, gods, and monsters of Zeus. No doubt, many of the enhancements and features in the game will be working in the upcoming beta build, so we'll get to show you exactly how Impressions and Sierra plan to improve this respected series of strategy games.
GameSpy (June 30th, 2000)

GameSpy: In creating and illustrating the buildings used in Zeus, did the game's artists have an intimate knowledge of ancient Greek architecture and style? Or, was much research done to make the game as authentic as possible?

Alex Rodberg: Zeus is a lighthearted city builder, set in mythological ancient Greece. To achieve this feeling, we draw freely from the Heroic and Dark ages, as well as from the Classical age. Our art department is intimately acquainted with historical research.

IGN PC (July 17th, 2000)
There's a lot more to Zeus than just gods and monsters, but we're going to wait until we get the full build before we tackle individual missions and the game's combat system. Look for more info on this title as soon as it becomes available.
GameCenter (July 18th, 2000)
Zeus will also deal with the strategic world more seriously than its predecessors. You can make alliances with other city-states, asking them for financial or military help in times of war. The colonies that you establish can also lend you support in times of need. You'll even be able to dispatch an army to another city to conduct a raid or to conquer it.
IGN PC (again, this time July 20th, 2000)
This isn't so much an info update as it is a content update. Why? Because we've got screens of the game now, and we thought we'd put them in the preview to go along with all of the great hinkfo. So read on through and learn about the next city building/strategy game to come from the same people that brought us Pharaoh and Caesar III.
GameSpy (August 13th, 2000)

GameSpy: Is the game being developed in a TB (Turn-Based) or RT (Real-Time) environment? How did you eventually decide on one over the other?

Chris Beatrice: Like the Caesar titles, and Pharaoh, Zeus is played in real-time. It's funny you should ask that because I remember when "RTS" (real-time strategy) was coming into its own with Warcraft I & II, and Command and Conquer, there was a lot of debate about turn-based vs. real-time strategy games.

FiringSquad (September 3rd, 2000)
Impressions is doing much to make Zeus an easier game than the Caesars or Pharaoh, which clearly had some nasty moments where they got irrationally difficult at early stages. The developers have also included several features within the game itself that can make any disasters in your city not as catastrophic as they could be.
GameCenter(September 8th, 2000)
The latest city-building game from the makers of Caesar III and Pharaoh gives gamers a taste of ancient Greece the way it was lived by the ancient Greeks--including gods who roam the city streets, mythological monsters that attack your citizens, and the original Olympic games.
GameScreenshots.com (ongoing)
A load of Zeus screenshots (there's a surprise ;))
DailyRadar (Sept 2000)
From what we've seen so far, Impressions is on track to offer a more widely appealing game. Clearly people like this type of realtime strategy; this city-building series has sold millions of copies, Sim City has sold millions of copies and there are folks around the office that enjoy Age of Empires II because of the city-building aspect. The series has been a big success for Impressions so far, and we think Zeus will carry on that tradition. Look for it in October.
SpieleCity
(in German, use Babelfish to translate it if necessary)
The Adrenaline Vault (Sept 25th, 2000)
Once you build a temple to a particular god or goddess, you have his/her blessing, and your city will benefit accordingly, however, you may incur the wrath of another divine being that is angry with you, or your patron deity.
DailyRadar (Sept 30th, 2000)

DR: Where does the series go from here? Impressions has done the major civilizations of the past; will it be moving forward in time now and competing directly with Maxis?

CB: With three great existing brands, and a myriad other civilizations and times to chose from, there's no telling what we'll turn to next.

IGN PC (October 2nd, 2000)
If the game seems to bring the bar down a bit for less experienced gamers, that shouldn't necessarily imply that the challenge level has been reduced. Zeus still has the frustratingly difficult qualities that made Caesar and Pharaoh both hits. Now it's just a little easier to cruise around the interface and a lot easier to stage a comeback after you're run your city into the ground. Having been a fan of the previous games, I'm curious to see how the final version plays. I'm even more curious to see where the series goes now that the trilogy has been completed.
GameSpy (October 6th, 2000)
Zeus: Master of Olympus should be out in the later part of October, so if you are a fan of city-building games and want something new, Zeus should deliver plenty of the old stuff and a lot of the new.
GamePower, with attached interview(October 7th, 2000)
But when it comes to history, Sierra's city-building series is far and away the hands down winner, simply because it successfully fuses what we know of ancient civilizations with a compelling game design. Let's face it, how many times can you build a futuristic metropolis or come to grips with a nuclear meltdown before you scream "uncle"? And where else can you learn about Roman or Egyptian ways of life and create a budding civilization all at the same time?